George Lucas Could Have Directed Star Wars: The Force Awakens

In a recent interview with USA Today, LucasFilm’s George Lucas, creator of the beloved Star Wars franchise, revealed that he was planning on directing Star Wars: Episode VII before he sold LucasFilms to Disney. His plan was to direct the movie, sell the company, and then walk away. He decided later that the plan wouldn’t work due to it being such a long-term commitment to do the film and also due to his family. Lucas said that he felt spending more time with his family was more important than directing another film. He explains saying:

“It’s better for me to get out at the beginning of a new thing and I can just remove myself. The time is more important to me than the money.”

George Lucas Star Wars - Darth Vader - Stormtroopers

Lucas went on to talk about his excitement for the upcoming Star Wars movie saying:

“The only thing I really regret about Star Wars is the fact I never got to see it — I never got to be blown out of my seat when the ship came over the screen. The next one, I’ll be able to enjoy it like anybody else.”

Let us know what you think about George Lucas and Star Wars: The Force Awakens in the comments down below!!

Leave a Reply

